About CAS

All residents of Chelmsford, Massachusetts and its surrounding communities who have an interest in the arts and crafts are invited to become members of the Chelmsford Art Society (CAS). Most CAS meetings are held on the last Wednesday of the month at the Chelmsford Center for the Arts or at the Chelmsford Library, September through May.

The CAS sponsors the 4th of July Art Festival at the CCA which has become an annual tradition and is a highlight of the Town of Chelmsford’s 4th of July celebrations. The Chelmsford Art Society has many volunteer opportunities and depends entirely on the continued enthusiasm and involvement of its members.

Mission Statement

The Chelmsford Art Society (CAS), is a nonprofit organization, and is proud to provide local artists with a forum to share and grow. Part of its ultimate goal is to bring recognition and participation in the Arts to the surrounding community.

CAS promotes the arts through education, networking, scholarship, and moral support from its members. CAS provides numerous opportunities for making friends with common interests, friends who share and understand the issues of being an artist in today’s hectic and highly technological world.

CAS tries to provide as many opportunities as possible to display and showcase the work and accomplishments of its local artists. Area art shows and competitions are announced in the CAS newsletter, on Facebook, and by E-mail communications.

CAS Board

Barbara Ludinsky
Co-President & Treasurer

Elaine Seidel
Co-President & Membership Chairperson

Diane Harvey

Julie Montague
Special Projects & Programs


Contact the CAS Board

Major Events of the Year

  • Demonstrations take place at monthly meetings, September through May, which are usually held the last Wednesday of the month. Guest artists are invited to demonstrate, lecture, and provide insight into their craft.
  • 4th of July Art Festival welcomes artists and admirers from all over the region. This annual traditional art show brings an influx of talent and original art from Chelmsford and surrounding towns. This festival is an integral part of town history and has been in existence for 50 years.
  • Members-Only Exhibit in December and January gives CAS members an opportunity to showcase their artwork at the Chelmsford Library during the holiday season.
  • Featured Artist Exhibits for CAS members at The Summer Place Retirement Residence, the Chelmsford Town Offices, and Picture Yourself! Custom Framing & and Gallery.


Meetings are held at*:

Chelmsford Center for the Arts (CCA)
1A North Road
Chelmsford MA 01824

Most programs are at 7:00 PM*
no cost to members, $5.00 for non-members

*unless otherwise noted

CAS Cancellation Policy
When Chelmsford Schools are closed due to weather and there is a scheduled meeting for the CAS, the meeting will be canceled or postponed to another day.

History & Awards

The following are some of the high school students who have received scholarships from the Chelmsford Art Society:

Cathy JudgeJason ConradtTracy MacLaughlinNicole Wrobel
Barbara BastianVictoria VooysEdward DudleySarah Williams
Markus LewisBenjamin ChapinEmma EastonKaren Keller
Christine DunnDonald TatarkaKevin NawoichikShailyn Farmer
Peter ReynoldsKaren DiGiovanni (Eacrett)Bobby ObendorfMark Eshbaugh
Paul TerranovaOliver McLachlanMagda Grazyna JanickiClaudette Lambert Peterson
Susan Pauline UngerLaura E. KampasRangeley MortonMonique Kersberger
Allan P. RoachSamantha MalamedJosh E. ShiauLisa Weaver
William LongJasmin LinAlissa BucklandLisa Trudel
Brian ReaJulie DiewaldSadie HansburyLance Wilder
Emmeline ZhouKevin TruongBrooke CardilloJulia Rose
Chelmsford Art Society Founders
Marion J. Geary
Gloria Cote Joan Plummer
Patricia Fitzpatrick Virginia LeClere
Geraldine Premo Joan Kizina
The following are some of the Past Presidents of the Chelmsford Art Society
Marie Geary Enid Wojtas
Lyn Marcella Irene Taylor
Joyce D. McKenzie Donna Ebner
Joe Yamello Sandra Galloway
Pat Fitzpatrick Ed Bunker
Walter Sheridan Shirley Lavoie
Flavia Cigliano Claire Gagnon
Connie Sheridan Denise Rainis & Judy Heron (co-presidents)
Nita Leger Casey Ivan Orlinsky
Joan Shuda Roberta Witts
Helen Moriarty Barbara Ludinsky & Elaine Sidell (co-presidents)

In recognition of their contribution to the well-being of the CAS

1970-1971Gerry Frazier1996-1997Elinor Lewis
1971-1972Joe Yamellow1997-1998Ruth Costello
1972-1973Lee Skelton1998-1999Jane Bigley
1973-1974John Glenfield1999-2000The Korbey Family
1974-1975Charles Durand2000-2001Sandra Galloway
1975-1976Margie Moler2001-2002Sue Gormley
1976-1977Mariam Ward2002-2003Donna Ebner
1977-1978Bill Baird2003-2004Kitty & Ed Bunker
1978-1979Joyce McKenzie2004-2005Carol Ann Barker
1979-1980Connie Sheridan2005-2006Shirley Lavoie
1980-1981Fredi Scutt2006-2007Marie Marchand
1981-1982Pat Fitzpatrick2007-2008Debra Bretton Robinson
1982-1983Hugh Phelps2008-2009Trina Teele
1983-1984Lynn Marcella2009-2010Claire Gagnon
1984-1985Bill Hynes2010-2011Eileen Byrne
1985-1986Walter Sheridan2011-2012Rita Thompson
1986-1987Flavia Cigliano2012-2013Pat Burns & Karen Tarr
1987-1988Tom Gill2013-2014Helen Moriarty
1988-1989Nita Casey2014-2015Roberta Witts
1990-1991Phyllis Wright2015-2016Peggy Jungbluth
1992-1993Adriana Batts2016-2017Bobby Smith
1993-1994Judy Buswick2017-2018Nan Quintin & Amy Quintin
1994-1995Joan Shuda2018-2019Roberta Witts
1995-1996Helen Moriarty2019-2020Barbara Ludinsky